Mailbox Over Quota

Some of our hosting clients may receive a warning from time to time about their mailbox either approaching, or exceeding their mail quota.  The important thing to note here is that as a client - you MUST do something here - or your mail will stop working correctly.   The good news is that the steps to correct this are easy.

Righto - First an explanation of how and why.  After that, we will explain the steps in actually changing the settings in your email clients. If you already know why, feel free to skip this bit and shoot down the page to the "how to" section.  We include the steps for

A bit of an explanation: Why?

When you retrieve e-mail messages from a POP3 (POP3: A common protocol that is used to retrieve e-mail messages from an Internet e-mail server.) e-mail account, the messages are deleted from the e-mail server by default after they are downloaded to your computer. For many people, this works great. However, if you want to check your e-mail from multiple computers, you must configure Outlook to not delete the messages on your e-mail server.

This scenario is most common for people who want to check their home ISP (ISP = Internet Service Providor: A business that provides access to the Internet) e-mail account from work and download the messages for permanent storage on their home computer. When you leave messages on your e-mail server, you can choose from several options to delete your messages.

To make your choice, you need to consider several factors about your e-mail usage, such as how long you want the messages to be accessible from multiple computers and the storage limits imposed by your e-mail server administrator. If you exceed your storage limit, you might be unable to receive new messages. Typically, it is best to have one computer set to the default setting that doesn't leave e-mail messages on the e-mail server. When you use the computer to retrieve your e-mail messages, they are downloaded and deleted from the e-mail server. If you choose not to do this, Outlook allows you to select a time duration for leaving e-mail messages on the server.

The time you leave email on the mail server is related to the amount of storage you have on your account, and what type of emails you typically receive. If you have 10Mb of storage, but typically receive 2Mb emails from friends - then you can only store about 5 emails before your limit is exceeded and your mail stops working.  If you then leave this on the server for 5 days, then you can only actually 1 of these emails PER DAY before exceeding your limit.  In this case, you need to either:

  1. Increase your storage space (contact Precedence for this)
  2. Decrease the time that mail is stored on the server.

Now, some guides on how to decrease the time mail is stored on the server.

Oulook Express

  1. Start Outlook Express
  2. Click on "Tools", then "Accounts"
  3. Click on the "Mail" tab at the top of the new window
  4. Click on the mail account you which to edit (it should highlight) then click on "Properties"
  5. Click on the "Advance" tab at the top of the new window
  6. You can edit the mail server settings at the bottom of the screen in the "Delivery" section.
    • For maximum mail delivery - ensure that there is NO tick next to the option "Leave a copy of messages in server"
    • If you do choose to tick this option - you can edit the length of time messages are stored on the server with the checkbox below.  It is also helpful to check the option "Remove from server when deleted from 'deleted items'".
  7. Click on "OK".
  8. Click on "Close".
  9. Click on "Send and Receive" to check your mail and put your new settings into effect.

Outlook

  1. Start Outlook
  2. Click on "Tools", then "E-mail Accounts"
  3. Click on "View or change an existing email account"
  4. Click on the mail account you which to edit (it should highlight) then click on "Change"
  5. Click on the "More Settings" button at the bottom right of the new window
  6. Click on the "Advanced" tab at the top of the new window
  7. You can edit the mail server settings at the bottom of the screen in the "Delivery" section.
    • For maximum mail delivery - ensure that there is NO tick next to the option "Leave a copy of messages in server"
    • If you do choose to tick this option - you can edit the length of time messages are stored on the server with the checkbox below.  It is also helpful to check the option "Remove from server when deleted from 'deleted items'".
  8. Click on "OK"
  9. Click on "Close"
  10. Click on "Send and Receive" to check your mail and put your new settings into effect.

Thunderbird

  1. Start Thunderbird
  2. Click on "Tools" then "Account Settings"
  3. Select the mail account you wish to manage on the left hand side, and then click on the "Server Settings" option underneath this account. (still in the left hand side column)
  4. You can edit the mail server settings at the bottom of the screen in the "Server Settings" section.
    • **For maximum mail delivery - ensure that there is NO tick next to the option "Leave a copy of messages in server"**
    • If you do choose to tick this option - you can edit the length of time messages are stored on the server with the checkbox below.
    • You may also wish to check the option "Until I delete them from Inbox" which will allow you to delete messages locally (on your computer) and have them deleted from the mail server.  Note that this only works IF you actually delete them from the inbox - if you leave messages in your inbox, this setting can make things worse by storing mail indefinitely on the mail server.
  5. Click on "OK"
  6. Click on "Get Mail" to check your mail and put your new settings into effect.